Fintech buying guide
Best Email Automation Tools for Fintech
Fintech teams need relevant communication without treating a marketing platform as proof of regulatory, security, or legal suitability. This shortlist compares tools for approved onboarding, education, activation, and customer lifecycle work by event quality, consent, data boundaries, ownership, and operational fit.
How to evaluate fintech email automation
Start with one defined communication purpose: explain a product, guide a verified application, help an opted-in customer activate an account, or hand a question to a human. Name the source event, audience permission, next useful action, and stop condition. Keep service, transactional, and marketing messages distinct so a preference change or account state can be respected.
Our pick for most fintech teams is Customer.io: journeys run on events your own systems send, Essentials is $100/mo at 5k profiles and $145 at 10k, and its pricing page lists US and EU data centers, a published DPA and SOC Tier II. Teams with an app and several messaging channels should also collect quotes from Braze and Iterable, which publish no price. Pricing pages and feature lists are not compliance evidence, so your security and legal owners decide what data may enter any tool. Avoid sending unnecessary sensitive financial data into personalization fields.
| Decision lens | Question | Pilot evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Permission | Why is this recipient eligible for this message? | Consent or service basis, preference state, timestamp, and suppression test |
| Data boundary | Which fields are actually needed? | Approved schema, access owner, retention rule, and sample payload |
| Control | What stops or hands off the journey? | Exit event, frequency policy, human override, and rollback plan |
Shortlist by fintech job
| Tool | Best for | Pricing |
|---|---|---|
| Customer.io | Event-led lifecycle messaging (our pick for most fintech teams) | Billed per profile: $100/mo covers 5k, $145/mo covers 10k and $235/mo covers 20k; custom volume starts at $1,000/mo on Premium, billed yearly |
| Braze | Large-scale cross-channel engagement | Pricing on request (quote-based); usage is measured by engaged users, so a fintech’s cost follows its active customer base |
| Iterable | Complex lifecycle programs | Pricing on request (quote-based); it sells through demos and contracts, so ask for a written quote that names your channels and volumes |
| HubSpot | CRM-connected customer education | Free tools allow 1 automated action, Starter ($7 per seat) up to 10 and Professional ($800/mo) unlimited, so the number of advisor seats drives the bill |
| ActiveCampaign | Visual nurture and follow-up | Starter $15/mo, Plus $49/mo at 1,000 contacts; Starter $149/mo at 10,000, billed annually |
| Intercom | Product and support-connected messaging | Essential from $19/seat/mo, Advanced $85/seat/mo, Expert $132/seat/mo; Fin AI Agent $0.99 per outcome; 14-day trial |
| Salesforce Marketing Cloud | Enterprise CRM and journey governance | Marketing Cloud Next Growth $1,500/mo and Advanced $3,250/mo per org, billed annually |
| Adobe Marketo Engage | B2B lead and account nurture | Pricing on request (quote-based); no list price is published for Marketo |
| Mailchimp | Lean education and campaign programs | The free tier is 250 contacts and 500 sends a month; Standard steps from $20/mo (500 contacts) to $100/mo (up to 5,000) and $135/mo (up to 10,000) |
| Brevo | Budget-conscious email and transactional needs | The free plan covers 300 emails a day; Starter ($9/mo) and Standard ($18/mo) begin at 5,000 emails a month, which fits notices and a newsletter |
| SendGrid | Developer-owned transactional communication | For receipts and security notices the Email API starts at $19.95/mo (Essentials) and $89.95/mo (Pro); Marketing Campaigns has a free tier for 2,000 contacts and Basic from $15/mo |
| Resend | API-first product email infrastructure | Free: 3,000 emails a month; Pro $20/mo for 50,000 emails ($35 at 100,000); Scale $90/mo for 100,000 |
| Customerly | Lean onboarding with support context | Plan prices were not recorded for this guide; its own pricing page sets out seats and message limits |
Customer.io: Event-led lifecycle messaging (our pick for most fintech teams)
Customer.io is our pick for most fintech teams because journeys run on events and attributes your own systems send, and its pricing page lists US and EU data centers, a published DPA and SOC Tier II, which gives your security reviewer something specific to read. Essentials is $100/mo for 5k profiles with 1 million emails a month included, but it does not include managed deliverability; that starts above it.
What a fintech team pays: Billed per profile: $100/mo covers 5k, $145/mo covers 10k and $235/mo covers 20k; custom volume starts at $1,000/mo on Premium, billed yearly. Source: Customer.io’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Event-led lifecycle messaging (our pick for most fintech teams) | Flexible event and attribute-driven journeys for approved education and lifecycle messages. | Needs disciplined event naming, consent logic, and data ownership. | Pilot one verified onboarding event with an explicit suppression and human review path. |
Braze: Large-scale cross-channel engagement
Braze shows no single public price, so budgeting starts with a quote. It covers email, push, SMS and other messaging channels, which makes it the natural comparison for a fintech with a mobile app and several teams sending messages, and more than a small team needs.
What a fintech team pays: Pricing on request (quote-based); usage is measured by engaged users, so a fintech’s cost follows its active customer base. Source: Braze’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Large-scale cross-channel engagement | Broad orchestration when email is coordinated with in-app or other owned channels. | Implementation, governance, and procurement may be substantial for smaller teams. | Run one consented cohort with frequency caps, a holdout, and an incident owner. |
Iterable: Complex lifecycle programs
Iterable describes itself as an AI customer engagement platform built for enterprise scale and lists no public price. It is the second quote to collect, alongside Braze, once a fintech runs journeys across product, marketing and data teams.
What a fintech team pays: Pricing on request (quote-based); it sells through demos and contracts, so ask for a written quote that names your channels and volumes. Source: Iterable’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Complex lifecycle programs | Can suit teams joining product, marketing, and data workflows around shared events. | Value depends on reliable schemas and cross-functional campaign operations. | Test one application or activation path with one branch and one hard stop. |
HubSpot: CRM-connected customer education
HubSpot makes sense when relationship managers or advisors work in the same CRM that holds marketing consent and lifecycle stage. Its pricing page lists 1 automated action on the free tools, up to 10 on Starter ($7/seat/mo) and unlimited on Professional ($800/mo), so automated education beyond a couple of steps needs Professional.
What a fintech team pays: Free tools allow 1 automated action, Starter ($7 per seat) up to 10 and Professional ($800/mo) unlimited, so the number of advisor seats drives the bill. Source: HubSpot’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| CRM-connected customer education | Connects approved nurture to CRM context, sales ownership, and service history. | Contact growth, hubs, and automation can change both cost and operating complexity. | Use one lifecycle stage and audit that sales, service, and preference changes override marketing. |
ActiveCampaign: Visual nurture and follow-up
ActiveCampaign suits a small fintech that wants visual nurture and a CRM at a modest price: Starter is $15/mo for 1,000 contacts but caps each automation at 5 actions, Plus is $49/mo, and it publishes a DPA template for your legal review. Its hosting region is not stated on the pages we read, so ask before you commit.
What a fintech team pays: Starter $15/mo, Plus $49/mo at 1,000 contacts; Starter $149/mo at 10,000, billed annually. Source: ActiveCampaign’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Visual nurture and follow-up | Accessible visual workflows for education, onboarding, and permission-based follow-up. | Overlapping automations and loosely governed fields can create conflicting messages. | Build a three-step education sequence with an event exit and a manual review queue. |
Intercom: Product and support-connected messaging
Intercom is priced per support seat rather than per contact, and Fin AI Agent is billed separately at $0.99 per outcome. Choose it when onboarding questions arrive through chat and your help center, and note that its pricing page lists HIPAA support and SSO from the Expert tier.
What a fintech team pays: Essential from $19/seat/mo, Advanced $85/seat/mo, Expert $132/seat/mo; Fin AI Agent $0.99 per outcome; 14-day trial. Source: Intercom’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Product and support-connected messaging | Useful when help content, support conversations, and product messages share context. | Email must be coordinated with in-product and service communication to avoid repetition. | Target one verified customer question, link to approved help content, and route replies to support. |
Salesforce Marketing Cloud: Enterprise CRM and journey governance
Salesforce’s marketing pricing page lists Marketing Cloud Next at $1,500 per org per month for Growth and $3,250 for Advanced, both billed annually. That is the cost of entry before implementation work, so it fits a fintech that already runs Salesforce as its system of record.
What a fintech team pays: Marketing Cloud Next Growth $1,500/mo and Advanced $3,250/mo per org, billed annually. Source: Salesforce Marketing Cloud’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Enterprise CRM and journey governance | Can fit organizations with mature CRM ownership, permissions, and journey operations. | Implementation and administration may require specialist teams and longer procurement. | Document one audience, data extension, approval step, suppression rule, and rollback procedure. |
Adobe Marketo Engage: B2B lead and account nurture
Marketo Engage is sold on a quote basis, so we cannot give a price here. It fits a fintech whose growth team is B2B (business accounts, advisors, partners) and already has a CRM sync to manage.
What a fintech team pays: Pricing on request (quote-based); no list price is published for Marketo. Source: Adobe Marketo Engage’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| B2B lead and account nurture | Fits teams coordinating education and handoff with established B2B marketing operations. | Lead lifecycle design and CRM synchronization require careful governance. | Test one permission-based nurture path with explicit sales handoff and exclusion criteria. |
Mailchimp: Lean education and campaign programs
Mailchimp fits a fintech that mainly sends newsletters and product announcements: the free plan covers 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, and Standard steps from $20/mo at 500 contacts to $135/mo for up to 10,000. It publishes a DPA, but its hosting region is not stated in the pages we read.
What a fintech team pays: The free tier is 250 contacts and 500 sends a month; Standard steps from $20/mo (500 contacts) to $100/mo (up to 5,000) and $135/mo (up to 10,000). Source: Mailchimp’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lean education and campaign programs | Familiar campaign workflow for onboarding education, service announcements, and newsletters. | Deep event-based journeys may need integrations or a more event-native platform. | Run one audience-defined education series with preference-center and post-send review checks. |
Brevo: Budget-conscious email and transactional needs
Brevo prices by emails sent, from $9/mo on Starter and $18/mo on Standard at 5,000 emails a month, and also sends transactional email. Its privacy policy states that data can be transferred outside the EEA and does not name a hosting region, so a fintech with residency rules should get that answered in writing.
What a fintech team pays: The free plan covers 300 emails a day; Starter ($9/mo) and Standard ($18/mo) begin at 5,000 emails a month, which fits notices and a newsletter. Source: Brevo’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Budget-conscious email and transactional needs | Can cover campaign, transactional, and automation needs in a leaner stack. | Confirm event depth, reporting, data controls, and channel behavior for the actual workflow. | Separate service notifications from marketing mail and test one consented onboarding journey. |
SendGrid: Developer-owned transactional communication
SendGrid’s Email API starts at $19.95/mo (Essentials) and $89.95/mo (Pro, with dedicated IPs included), while Marketing Campaigns has a free plan for 2,000 contacts and 6,000 emails a month. It is the developer-owned route for payment receipts and security notices; Twilio publishes a DPA, with hosting region not stated.
What a fintech team pays: For receipts and security notices the Email API starts at $19.95/mo (Essentials) and $89.95/mo (Pro); Marketing Campaigns has a free tier for 2,000 contacts and Basic from $15/mo. Source: SendGrid’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Developer-owned transactional communication | Practical when engineering owns templates, delivery events, and application integrations. | Journey design, preference handling, and measurement may remain partly in-house. | Test one versioned event-triggered message including retries, suppression, logs, and alerting. |
Resend: API-first product email infrastructure
Resend’s Free plan allows 3,000 emails a month (100 a day), Pro is $20/mo for 50,000 emails and Scale is $90/mo for 100,000, with a marketing tab that includes automations. It is code-first, so every consent and suppression rule is yours to implement and test.
What a fintech team pays: Free: 3,000 emails a month; Pro $20/mo for 50,000 emails ($35 at 100,000); Scale $90/mo for 100,000. Source: Resend’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| API-first product email infrastructure | Fits teams that want code-owned delivery and a straightforward developer workflow. | It is infrastructure, not a complete regulated-lifecycle marketing operating system. | Ship one service or onboarding event with idempotency, unsubscribe handling, and rollback. |
Customerly: Lean onboarding with support context
Customerly blends live chat with simple lifecycle email for small teams. We have not recorded its plan prices, so read its pricing page directly; it belongs on a shortlist only for a small fintech that wants support and onboarding emails from one inbox.
What a fintech team pays: Plan prices were not recorded for this guide; its own pricing page sets out seats and message limits. Source: Customerly’s own site. A listed feature or a published DPA is not proof that a tool is suitable for regulated messages, so your compliance owner still has to sign off.
| Best for | Pros | Cons | First pilot |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lean onboarding with support context | May suit smaller teams combining customer conversations with basic lifecycle communication. | Validate event depth, reporting, integrations, and governance against the fintech stack. | Start with one checklist-based onboarding path and inspect every support handoff manually. |
A controlled fintech pilot
| Phase | What to verify | Proceed only when |
|---|---|---|
| Define | One audience, purpose, event, owner, message, and success action. | Compliance, product, lifecycle, and support owners agree on the boundary. |
| Instrument | Identity, consent, suppression, retries, rendering, access, and reply routing. | A test record receives the right message once and leaves when state changes. |
| Measure | Activation, completion, qualified support outcome, or customer understanding—not opens alone. | Results have a baseline or holdout and unintended sends are reviewed. |
| Expand | Data freshness, frequency, cost, incident response, and rollback. | The team can explain failure recovery before increasing volume or adding sensitive fields. |
For related implementation guidance, read our behavioral email automation guide, workflow explainer, and email automation metrics guide. For the broader buying framework, see the email automation guide.
Decision table: which tool fits your priority?
| If your priority is… | Test first | Watch out for |
|---|---|---|
| Product announcements and a monthly newsletter to opted-in customers | Mailchimp (free to 250 contacts, Standard $20/mo at 500) or Brevo (from $9/mo) | Hosting region and data-transfer terms, which neither page states |
| Advisor-led onboarding recorded in a CRM | HubSpot Professional ($800/mo) or ActiveCampaign Plus ($49/mo at 1,000 contacts) | HubSpot's free tools allow 1 automated action, Starter up to 10 |
| An app-based fintech that needs a small team to ship lifecycle emails fast | Customer.io Essentials, once product events are flowing | Essentials excludes managed deliverability, and profiles are billed by high-watermark |
| Support questions during onboarding | Intercom, paired with an email tool for campaigns | Seat pricing from $19 to $132 per seat, and $0.99 per Fin outcome |
| An enterprise already on Salesforce or with an enterprise marketing team | Salesforce Marketing Cloud Next ($1,500/mo Growth), Marketo or Braze quotes | Annual billing and the implementation work around the licence |
| Payment receipts and security notices owned by engineering | SendGrid Email API or Resend, kept apart from promotional lists | Consent and suppression rules are yours to build and test |
Costs at 5k, 10k and 20k profiles, and a month-long rollout
Customer.io is the only fintech-relevant tool here that publishes a profile ladder: $100/mo at 5k profiles, $145 at 10k and $235 at 20k, billed monthly, with each additional profile at $0.009 on Essentials. ActiveCampaign Starter, billed annually, is $79/mo at 5,000 contacts and $149/mo at 10,000. Mailchimp Standard is $100/mo for 2,501 to 5,000 contacts and $135/mo for 5,001 to 10,000. Braze, Iterable and Marketo publish no price, and Salesforce Marketing Cloud Next starts at $1,500/mo per org.
| Weeks | What the team does | Exit criterion |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Agree one journey with product, compliance and support, and list exactly which fields may enter the email tool | A written field list with a named data owner |
| 2 | Send test events from a staging environment and replay failed-payment, closed-account and opt-out cases | Each case produces the right message once, or none |
| 3 | Have compliance review the copy and the unsubscribe and preference handling, then switch on for a small approved segment | Signed-off copy and a rollback owner |
| 4 | Review unintended sends, complaints and support tickets for that segment, then decide whether to widen it | Zero unexplained sends in the segment |
What a good pilot actually measures
| Measurement trap | Why it misleads | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Counting messages delivered | A delivered education email says nothing about whether the customer understood the product | Track account activation or completion of the next step |
| Pricing only the first plan | Customer.io Essentials is $100/mo but excludes managed deliverability, and Premium starts at $1,000/mo | Ask which tier your deliverability and review needs sit on |
| Skipping failure cases | Happy-path tests miss closed accounts, duplicate events and reversals | Replay edge cases from a staging copy of your event stream |
| Treating consent as a list property | A person can be reachable for service notices and not for promotions | Store the basis for each message type and check it before every send |
Common implementation mistakes to avoid
- Putting account balances or transaction details into personalization fields that did not need them
- Sending a payment-failure education email at the same moment as a service notice about the same payment
- Letting marketing and compliance each own half of the unsubscribe logic
- Choosing a quote-based enterprise platform before the team can name the journeys it will run
Fintech email automation questions
Which email automation tool is best for a fintech startup?
Customer.io for most teams: journeys run on events your systems send, Essentials is $100/mo at 5k profiles and $145 at 10k, and its pricing page lists US and EU data centers, a published DPA and SOC Tier II. Large programs with several channels should also get quotes from Braze and Iterable.
Does a vendor's DPA or data center make it safe for regulated messages?
No. A DPA, a data-center location or a security certification is evidence for your review, not a substitute for it. Your compliance and security owners decide what data may enter the tool and which messages it may send.
Should payment receipts go through the same tool as marketing email?
Usually keep them separate. Developer-owned senders such as SendGrid's Email API or Resend suit receipts and security notices, while a lifecycle tool handles education and onboarding, so a marketing opt-out never blocks a service message.
What does HubSpot allow for automation on each plan?
HubSpot's marketing pricing page lists 1 automated action on the free tools, up to 10 on Starter and unlimited on Professional, which is $800/mo.
Related reading for regulated senders
- Best tools for customer onboarding: a broader look at activation journeys, which is where most fintech lifecycle email starts.
- Onboarding email automation: a five-email structure you can hand to compliance for review.
- Automation workflows explained: how triggers, conditions and exits map to the stop rules your reviewers will ask about.
- Email automation mistakes: frequency, suppression and testing errors to rule out before launch.